Janelle & Joseph

12 March 2016
Ivy Ballroom, Sydney, NSW
Photography by
Blumenthal Photography

“There are many memories from our wedding day that Joe and I will always cherish, however there is one moment that really stands out to me. Joe and I were greeting our friends and family in the ballroom and I remember looking around the room and thinking how magical that exact moment felt. To see all our loved ones come together to celebrate our marriage brought a big smile to my face.”

A place with space

Janelle and Joseph chose the Ivy Ballroom in the heart of Sydney's CBD. "We loved the venue's 6-metre high ceilings, incredible chandeliers and abundance of natural light. As soon as we visited the ballroom we knew it was the perfect venue for our wedding reception." The couple chose a classic colour palette of white and cream to decorate the space. Large cherry blossom trees were also used to create a whimsical feel that was offset by the opulent chandeliers, gold candelabra and an abundance of delicately coloured florals. "A black grand piano set the tone for our event and the reception tables featured elegant black linens coupled with clear tiffany chairs."


Bride's Advice

"Try not to stress about the little things. Leading up to the wedding I was paranoid that something might go wrong on the day. It wasn't until afterwards that I realised the little things don’t matter. The most important thing is to have fun and celebrate with your family and friends." 

The details 

"The cherry blossom trees were definitely our favourite feature of the wedding reception styling. They added a sense of drama to the ballroom and the 'wow' effect we were looking for as our guests walked into the space for the first time. I also liked the variation in table layouts. Compared to a more traditional and uniform formation we chose a combination of circular, square and king tables." 

The gown

"Like most brides-to-be I was incredibly excited about my wedding dress. I wanted it to be magical but also modern in style. Steven Khalil designed my gown in ivory. It had a deep V-neckline and hand encrusted crystals on the bodice. Intricate, fabric 3D lace petals were attached to the full length skirt." Janelle's bridesmaids wore soft pink cocktail dresses with white lace detailing, complementing the floral design of Janelle's dress. The bride and her bridesmaids carried natural stem posies of vandela roses and cream coloured David Austin roses.

The cake

"Joe and I wanted our cake to be a focal feature of the wedding reception. It was to be grand and elegant. We enlisted Faye Cahill and together, chose a 5-tier cake iced matte white and finished with a combination of textures and decorations in white and silver. It was topped with a white flower ball which gave the overall design a refined and sophisticated look."


gown: Steven Khalil, stevenkhalil.com

photography: Blumenthal Photography, blumenthalphotography.com.au

reception venue & caterer: Ivy Ballroom, merivale.com.au/ivyballroom

flowers & floral design: John Emmanuel Floral Event Stylist, johnemmanuel.com.au

cake: Faye Cahill Cake Design, fayecahill.com.au

stationery: Diane Khoury Weddings & Events, weddingsbydianekhoury.com.au

planner: Jasique Events, jasique.com.au

bridesmaids: The Doll House, thedollhousexoxo.com.au

shoes: Wanted, wantedshoes.com.au

hair: Natalieanne, natalieanne.com.au

makeup: Makeup by Jessica, makeupby-jessica.com

additional suppliers: Harbourside Decorators, harboursidedecorators.com.au

Starlight Chandeliers, starlightchandeliers.com.au

Sydney Signature Events, 0408 464 420